White Horse

“All I want is you. Do you love me?

Yeah.

Can you give me another chance?”

Say you’re sorry, that face of an angel comes out just when you need it to. As I pace back and forth all this time, because I honestly believed in you. How stupid I was. To believe in you, to believe in us. To think I was good enough to get true love.

I’ve been holding on to the idea of us. And the days keep dragging on. Stupid girl, I should have known. I should have known that I couldn’t trust you and that you didn’t love me like I love you.

I’m not a princess. This ain’t a fairy tale. I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet, lead her up the stairwell. I’m just me. I’m not someone special. This ain’t Hollywood, this is a small town.

I was a dreamer before you went and let me down. Now it’s too late for you and your white horse to come around.

“I never thought I’d meet anyone like him. I feel like he’s everything I ever wanted.

There’s something you should know about him.”

Maybe I was naive? I shouldn’t have allowed myself to think you could love me like I love you. Guess I got lost in your eyes. And never really had a chance. The minute I saw you I was a goner.

My mistake, I didn’t know to be in love you had to fight to have the upper hand. And I guess  I’m done fighting. I can’t take it anymore. Because I had so many dreams about you and me. Happy endings. But now I know…

That I’m not a princess. This ain’t a fairy tale. I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet, lead her up the stairwell. This ain’t Hollywood, this is a small town. I was a dreamer before you went and let me down. Now it’s too late for you and your white horse to come around.

And there you are on your knees. But you’re just a little too late. You’re begging for forgiveness. Begging for me. But I needed you to do this months ago. Not now. You’re doing what I wanted. Just like I always wanted. But I’m so sorry.

Because I’m not your princess. This ain’t our fairy tale. I’m gonna find someone someday who might actually treat me well. Who might actually treat me how I deserve to be treated. Because this is a big world and that was a small town. There in my rear view mirror, disappearing now. And there’s so many more people I have yet to meet.

And it’s too late for you and your white horse. Now it’s too late for you and your white horse to catch me now. And I would have given anything for you to catch me before. But it’s just a little bit too late. And you can chase and chase and chase me but I’m just a little bit too far gone.

“Do you love me?

Yeah.

Can you give me another chance?

No.”

Oh. Just try and catch me now. It’s too late. It’s just a little too late to catch me now.

(White Horse by Taylor Swift)

Leave a Reply

