Treacherous

Put your lips close to mine, as long as they don’t touch. I wouldn’t be able to hold back if you came any closer to me. And I’m supposed to be moving on from you.

I feel out of focus. Because we are eye to eye. I feel unsteady. Unstable. Unwilling. Eye to eye until the gravity’s too much.

And I’ll do anything you say if you say it with your hands. So point me in any direction and I’ll follow your lead. Even though I’d be smart to walk away. But you’re quick sand.

This slope is treacherous. This path is reckless. This slope is treacherous. And I like it.

I can’t decide if it’s a choice, getting swept away. Because as much as I say I’m unwilling, here I am inviting you in to my life again. And suddenly I can hear the sound of my own voice again, asking you to stay.

And all we are is skin and bone, trained to get along. I feel like I’m forever trying to go with the flow. But you’re friction.

This slope is treacherous. This path is reckless. This slope is treacherous. And I like it.

Two headlights shine and you’re picking me up again. We drove through the sleepless night and I’ve got you alone. Your name had been echoing through my mind and I just thought you should know. So here you are again and I’m telling myself that even though I shouldn’t be doing this. I’m not being careful. Not being safe. That it’s okay because nothing safe is worth the drive.

And this hope of mine for us is treacherous. This daydream is dangerous. This hope is treacherous and I like it.

I just think you should know that nothing safe is worth the drive. So take the long way round this time.

Because this slope is treacherous and I like it.

(Treacherous by Taylor Swift)

Leave a Reply

