calm · chill · drama · Everything happens for a reason · feelings · Future · Growing up · happiness · Heartbreak · Life · Love · moving on · Uncategorized

5 small ways to make big changes

I swung my wardrobe door open to see nothing except a HUGE pile of clothes. I placed my hands on my hips and titled my head to the side wondering if it would look tidier at a different angle. It didn’t. Oh! Did I need to add that opening the door caused clothes to spew out in 25 different directions on to the floor. There are clothes everywhere. And don’t even get me started on shoes.

But. My staring contest with the mess lasted about as long as the adverts before Geordie Shore came blasting back on to my TV. So I flung myself back on to my bed and vowed that I would sort the mess out on the next advert. This vow would be transferred to every advert after it until suddenly I was saying I would do it tomorrow. Hmm. I’ll do it tomorrow. I’ve never heard that one before.

This sort of procrastination only happens once our goals are bigger than our energy levels, our time limit and even sometimes, our courage. I mean trust me it takes a lot of courage to deal with that many clothes. When we look at something that seems impossible, it’s easy to just shove everything back in the closet and place our body weight up against it to make sure it doesn’t come flying out again. And I don’t mean just shoving clothes out of the way so we can pretend to forget about them.

I mean the things we look at and see as impossible and then continue to just ignore them. We imagine the big, ultimate end goal and see ourselves at the starting line and we are already exhausted by our thoughts and drowning in our own stress.

But it doesn’t have to be like that. Seriously.

After I realised that watching people down so many vodka shots until they end up on the floor wasn’t a good use of my time, I turned off my TV and decided to deal with the mess. One step at a time.

I am not going to lie. This taking one step at a time thing can take forever. But it works. And I think there are some other things that would really help make big changes in our lives. And these are:

1.Appreciate what you have in life.

We spend too much time scrolling through Instagram and marvelling at other people’s adventures in life. We look at the perfectly filtered lives of our ‘friends’ and then continue to get majorly stressed by our suffocating to-do list. We let our minds start to think and think and think about how much we wish we were sat in the sun instead of doing with this. Or maybe we think about much more time to sleep we want. Or how much more free time we would want.

But you know what would make so much better use of this time? Thinking about how lucky we are to actually have a bed to sleep in in the first place. Or how happy we should be that we are getting an education or we have work to do or a job to go to. Because some people don’t get the opportunity to do or have those things. So I think we should be using this to wake up and remind ourselves what we should be grateful for. And that maybe we should make a morning list of the things (tiny or large) that mean the world to us. 

2.Express more vulnerability.

We shouldn’t feel weird when complimenting someone. So instead of just thinking something positive about someone else. Tell them. When you see someone at school wearing a super cute outfit, let them know you like it. While you’re driving to school with your best friend, tell her she means the world to you. How thankful you are that she puts up with you. How you would be lost without her. Tell your parents that you don’t know how the hell they have so much patient with you but how much you do appreciate that they do.

Compliments put you out there, as if you’re pulling open the curtain of a Broadway stage open and stepping out and speaking your mind like people, these days, rarely do.

3.Feel comfortable as you.

Feel comfortable in your own skin. Let yourself look in the mirror and find things you like. Don’t let yourself speak badly about your own self. Because at the end of the day. We have to life with ourselves every single day so we might as well start to enjoy it.

4.Switch up your day to day routine.

When the days start to blend together and you feel like you can’t change much due to the overwhelming work schedule. Then just change the smallest thing. The smallest changes, create the biggest difference. You could literally just wear a different perfume and you will spend the whole day thinking of how that little change has made you feel so different.

5.Stop feeling like a grown up.

Spend Saturday afternoon doing something that you used to love doing when you were 8-years-old. Maybe it’s making friendship bracelets or sliding down a slip and slide in your backyard. Perhaps it’s rollerblading or writing love letters to a guy you have a giant crush on while you dance on top of your mattress to a S-Club 7 song.

Change has the power to make life slow down a bit. Gives us the opportunity to press the reset button on a situation that’s spun wildly out of our control. It makes us shake off the crud that’s building up inside of our eye socket and say hello to a world we’ve been casually sleeping through.

No  more of doing that, okay?

Take care and try not to worry too much,

Cleo xxx

Leave a Reply

