Ignorance is bliss

“They say ignorance is bliss because once you know about the tumour or the prognosis, you can’t go back. Will you be strong or will you fall apart? It’s hard to predict so don’t worry about it. Enjoy the time you have before the news comes. Yep, ignorance is bliss.” (Meredith Grey- Grey’s Anatomy)

Because when you know something; you can’t unknow it. As much as you want to shake the memory out of your heard and forget; you can’t.

They say ignorance is bliss. They say not knowing something will make life so much easier. They say what you don’t know won’t hurt you. But what about when you do. When you’re being blinded by what you now know, by what you can never forget. Do you try to forget and move on? Do you ignore it completely? Or do you let whatever you now know completely take over your mind and distract you? (Usually it’s the last one for me. That and a lack of sleep whilst I lay wide awake thinking).

We take the time that we aren’t hurting for granted. We never realise how happy we are until suddenly; we aren’t happy anymore. We have something to worry about, to mull over, to spend hours thinking of resolutions to.

So is it just easier for us to not know things that hurt us. Or is it just inevitable that we will find things out that will hurt us anyway. Is ignorance bliss? Because if I’m honest I’ve always been a knowledge is power, confrontation is helpful, truth will set you free type of girl. Maybe ignorance isn’t bliss and maybe we do need to know things that hurt us so we then grow as people.

Once you know something, you can’t go back. As much as it may hurt, you can’t just suddenly forget something you have found out or been told. You will try with all your might to not care or to forget but once knowledge is in your hands then it’s totally hard to forget. The less you know, the sounder you sleep. (And I can tell you now I am SERIOUSLY suffering from sleep deprivation at this point.)

We are humans. We are always going to be happy or be sad or get hurt or hurt people ourselves. So maybe being ignorant and not knowing things isn’t going to help us at all. In my opinion we are always going to get hurt at some point in our lives; it’s inevitable. However this hurt and pain is what helps us either pick ourselves up and become better and stronger people or ultimately fall apart.

I’m going to share something that happened to me last Friday. My first love (current love) was at a party and I was totally paranoid that something would happen with him and some other girl. (This totally had opportunity to happen because me and him haven’t defined our already complicated relationship and a girl he has kissed in the past was at this party). So me being me, I had a sleepover with two of my closest friends just so I knew I would have someone there incase something happened and I was informed about it. Now this situation would have been lovely for me to have no information given to me and ignorance would have been bliss!!!!!

(Just as a side note I got sent some not too great pictures that looked very much like he had kissed this girl and I totally had a meltdown. However turns out he didn’t kiss anyone even when he had plenty of opportunity to. Yes this is also playing on my mind and making me wonder why he didn’t when he had the opportunity to???????)

Another situation I am currently in is where I have some information that is becoming very hard for me to ignore. I am in a situation where I am very annoyed about what I know but I am stuck and there’s no way out and I really don’t know what to do. (Shock that this post has gone from something that was supposed to be really relatable and has just turned in to me having a mini meltdown about my current issues.)

So will I be strong or will I fall apart? Will I let it consume me or will I rise above? Will I find a way back to the simpler times? Or is this how life is going to be from now on?

It’s so much easier to deny everything, repress your feelings, ignore the facts. Ignorance is bliss; it’s easy and it doesn’t screw with your head. It’s literal paradise.

Take care and try not to worry too much,

Cleo xxx

Leave a Reply

